Saturday 19th – Day 11

Firstly, a big thank you to everyone for all your comments. It’s been really encouraging to read your thoughts and impressions – and yes I will be going on a diet when I get back :D. This trip has been a privilege and a joy to meet God’s people around the world and to hear the wonderful stories of what He is doing and how his church is growing and spreading.

This morning we had breakfast with an Anglican Vicar from the church I will speak at tomorrow morning. He is a great guy, really loves the Lord, and great fun to spend some time with. He and Alan had a laugh feeding me with hot, spicy squid for breakfast amongst other things!

I now find out that the schedule has got even busier! The next 24hrs or so are going to be a bit of a marathon. Ken keeps arranging for us to speak at different church services and meeting lots of different people. I think he wants me to get a real flavour of what his life on the road is like… and I love it! So this is what the next 24hrs are looking like for me (so far):

  • 8pm tonight – evening service – to preach to a Chinese speaking church
  • 8am tomorrow – morning service – to preach to an English speaking anglican church
  • 10.30am tomorrow – morning service – to preach to an Indian speaking church
  • Lunch – to a mission to meet some pastors; doctors, dentists and other medical staff
  • 4pm – tomorrow – afternoon service – to preach to a Vietnamese speaking church
  • 9pm – tomorrow – night service – to preach to another Vietnamese speaking church

I am loving it! Feel totally out of my depth and am happy there because I won’t rely on my own strength as much! Your prayers would be very much appreciated! Off for a little sleep now.

7 thoughts on “Saturday 19th – Day 11

  1. We’re sure your preaching will be a blessing to those who hear you at all the services.

    We are looking forward to hearing Mike Lowe tomorrow.

    God bless you.

  2. Philippians 4:13. I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.

    Psalms 18:32. The God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect? 33 He makes my feet like deer’s feet, and sets me on my high places.

    God’s blessing.
    Sue & Alan

  3. Philippians 4:13. I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me

    Psalms 18:32 The God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect.
    He makes my feet like deer’s feet, and sets me on my high places.

  4. Steve, can you hurry up and come back home please – we’re missing you! It sounds like you’re having an amazing time, even though preaching 5 times in the next 24 hours sounds like it might be a little on the tiring side! We’re continuing to pray for you and looking forward to hearing more about it when you’re back.

  5. Glad to hear you are having such a good and busy time – a taste of what we do! And it’s NOT a holiday in spite of the question we are often asked when we get back home! Enjoy the rest fo the time as we enjoy your blog!

  6. Steve,
    I have been most impressed with your blog – words, photos and video. You are so busy yet you get time to tell us all about what you are doing. I have read it every day and kept you in my prayers daily. You will need a rest when you get back after all your preaching commitments and all that food!
    Hope all goes well tomorrow.
    God bless you both
    Margarita

  7. Hello Steve

    Be assured that you (and Ken ) are in our thoughts and prayers. You mentioned that you would keep Friday 25th March free for you to collect your thoughts and get ready for life back in Handforth. Judging by the pace you have described, you might want to think about leaving the whole of April to get your feet back on the ground. What a blessing you describe; for everyone experiencing your teaching ( and Ken’s ), and for yourselves via such wonderful people.

    Will there be opportunities to meet any of these people here at St Chad’s? Or perhaps the chance to communicate with them via the web? I’m sure that members of our church family of all ages would find it interesting to make and develop contacts from the church communities that you’ve visited.

    Heavenly Father, we thank You and praise You for giving Steve and Ken the opportunity to spread the word of Your good news. We pray for their safety and for there spiritual growth, and for Your blessings upon them and upon all they meet. Greg

Leave a comment